Zaha Hadid - Portrait

Zaha Hadid

Zaha Hadid was one of the first women to leave her mark on architecture. For example, the world-famous ski jump on the Bergisel in Innsbruck and the London Aquatics Centre are based on designs by her. She was known above all for her precise sketches and the clear lines of her buildings. However, Hadid's visions were long regarded as unrealizable, which is why she only made her breakthrough in the 1990s. In 2004, she was the first woman ever to win the Prizker Prize, the world's most important award for architects.

Profile

  • Name: Dame Zaha Mohammad Hadid
  • Alias: Zaha Hadid
  • Date of birth: 31.10.1950
  • Date of death: 31.03.2016

Biography of Zaha Hadid

Zaha Hadid was born on 31 October 1950 in the Iraqi capital Baghdad. Her parents were wealthy intellectuals who oriented themselves to the lifestyle of the West. Already as a child, Hadid had the dream of becoming an architect. After graduating from school, she studied mathematics at the American University of Beirut. Between 1972 and 1977 she earned a degree in architecture at the Architectural Association School in London.

She then worked for six months at the Office for Metropolitan Architecture in Rotterdam, founded by Rem Koolhaas, until she was appointed as a lecturer at the Architectural Association School. She carried out this activity for ten years, but in 1980 she founded her own architectural practice in London. She was able to finance this because she had previously won an architectural competition in Hong Kong.

The architect was ahead of her time

It soon became apparent that Hadid's designs were considered too daring by many builders. Thus she won the repeatedly renewed tender for the construction of the Cardiff Opera House three times, but in the end none of her plans were realised. It was not until 1993 that a design by Hadid was actually put into practice, namely the fire station on the premises of the Vitra company in Weil am Rhein.

Among the most important projects she has realized over the years are the Bridge Pavilion in Zaragoza, Spain, the National Museum of 21st Century Arts (MAXXI) in Rome, the Opera House in Guangzhou, China, and the ski jump on the Bergisel in Innsbruck, Austria. She was also commissioned to design the London Aquatics Centre, where the swimming competitions for the 2012 Olympic Games were held.

Zaha Hadid, a versatile woman

In addition to her work as an architect, Hadid was a lecturer for many years. She has taught at Harvard University, Columbia University in New York and the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg, among others. Between 2000 and 2015 she was professor at the Vienna University of Applied Arts. She was also very interested in designing everyday objects. For example, she designed furniture, wallpaper and shoes.

Hadid was attracted to industrial design because it produces faster results than architecture. However, she had too little time for it, as her architectural practice worked on more than 900 projects around the world at times. Interestingly, Hadid designed a stage set for the Pet Shop Boys' world tour in 1999/2000. She died of a heart attack on March 31, 2016, while she was in a hospital in Miami for treatment of bronchitis.

Quotes from Zaha Hadid

There are 360 degrees, so why stick to one?

Zaha Hadid

Architecture is like writing. You have to edit it over and over so it looks effortless.

Zaha Hadid

A brilliant design will always benefit from the input of others.

Zaha Hadid
Zaha Hadid

Architecture is how the person places herself in the space. Fashion is about how you place the object on the person.

Zaha Hadid

Know what it is that you are trying to find out.

Zaha Hadid

I really believe in the idea of the future.

Zaha Hadid

Different projects give you satisfaction in different ways.

Zaha Hadid

People say I design architectural icons. If I design a building and it becomes an icon, that's ok.

Zaha Hadid

Zaha Hadid - Portrait

Zaha Hadid

Zaha Hadid war eine der ersten Frauen, die in der Architektur ihre Spuren hinterließ. So basieren etwa die weltbekannte Skispringschanze auf dem Innsbrucker Bergisel und das London Aquatics Centre auf Entwürfen von ihr. Bekannt war sie vor allem für ihre präzisen Skizzen und die klaren Linien ihrer Gebäude.

Die Visionen von Hadid wurden jedoch lange als nicht realisierbar angesehen, weshalb sie erst in den 1990er-Jahren ihren Durchbruch schaffte. Im Jahr 2004 gewann sie als erste Frau überhaupt den Prizker-Preis, der als weltweit bedeutendste Auszeichnung für Architekten gilt.

Steckbrief

  • Name: Dame Zaha Mohammad Hadid
  • Alias: Zaha Hadid
  • Geburtstag: 31.10.1950
  • Todestag: 31.03.2016

Biografie von Zaha Hadid

Geboren wurde Zaha Hadid am 31. Oktober 1950 in der irakischen Hauptstadt Bagdad. Ihre Eltern waren reiche Intellektuelle, die sich am Lebensstil des Westens orientierten. Hadid hatte bereits als Kind den Traum, Architektin zu werden. Nach ihrem Schulabschluss studierte sie an der American University of Beirut Mathematik, zwischen 1972 und 1977 erwarb sie einen Abschluss in Architektur an der Architectural Association School in London.

Anschließend arbeitete sie ein halbes Jahr lang im von Rem Koolhaas gegründeten Office for Metropolitan Architecture in Rotterdam, bis sie als Dozentin an die Architectural Association School berufen wurde. Diese Tätigkeit übte sie zehn Jahre lang aus, gründete allerdings 1980 in London ein eigenes Architekturbüro. Finanzieren konnte sie dies, weil sie zuvor einen Architekturwettbewerb in Hongkong gewonnen hatte.

Die Architektin war ihrer Zeit voraus

Es zeigte sich bald, dass Hadids Entwürfe von vielen Bauherren als zu gewagt angesehen wurden. So gewann sie gleich drei Mal die immer wieder erneuerte Ausschreibung für den Bau des Opernhauses in Cardiff, wobei letztlich aber keiner ihrer Pläne verwirklicht wurde. Erst im Jahr 1993 wurde ein Entwurf von Hadid tatsächlich in die Tat umgesetzt, nämlich das Feuerwehrhaus auf dem Gelände der Firma Vitra in Weil am Rhein.

Zu den wichtigsten Projekten, die sie im Laufe der Zeit realisierte, gehören der Brücken-Pavillon im spanischen Saragossa, das Nationale Museum der Künste des 21. Jahrhunderts (MAXXI) in Rom, das Opernhaus im chinesischen Guangzhou und die Skisprungschanze auf dem Bergisel in Innsbruck. Außerdem wurde sie damit beauftragt, das London Aquatics Centre zu entwerfen, in dem die Schwimmwettbewerbe bei den Olympischen Spielen 2012 ausgetragen wurden.

Zaha Hadid, eine vielseitige Frau

Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Architektin war Hadid lange als Dozentin tätig. Unter anderem lehrte sie an der Harvard University, der Columbia University in New York und der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg. Zwischen 2000 und 2015 war sie Professorin an der Wiener Universität für angewandte Kunst. Außerdem interessierte sie sich sehr für das Designen von Alltagsgegenständen. So gestaltete sie beispielsweise Möbel, Tapeten und Schuhe.

Dem Industriedesign war Hadid deshalb zugeneigt, weil es schnellere Ergebnisse hervorbringt als die Architektur. Allerdings hatte sie zu wenig Zeit dafür, da ihr Architektenbüro zeitweise an mehr als 900 Projekten in aller Welt arbeitete. Interessanterweise gestaltete Hadid für die Welttournee der Pet Shop Boys 1999/2000 ein Bühnenbild. Sie starb am 31. März 2016 an einem Herzinfarkt, während sie sich zur Behandlung einer Bronchitis in einem Krankenhaus in Miami befand.

Zitate von Zaha Hadid

There are 360 degrees, so why stick to one?

Zaha Hadid

Architecture is like writing. You have to edit it over and over so it looks effortless.

Zaha Hadid

A brilliant design will always benefit from the input of others.

Zaha Hadid

I don't use the computer. I do sketches, very quickly, often more than 100 on the same formal research.

Zaha Hadid

Architecture is how the person places herself in the space. Fashion is about how you place the object on the person.

Zaha Hadid

Know what it is that you are trying to find out.

Zaha Hadid

I really believe in the idea of the future.

Zaha Hadid

Different projects give you satisfaction in different ways.

Zaha Hadid

People say I design architectural icons. If I design a building and it becomes an icon, that's ok.

Zaha Hadid