Virgil Abloh - Louis Vuitton - Portrait

Virgil Abloh

Virgil Abloh is actually a studied architect, but is considered one of the most promising fashion designers of his generation. With his label Off-White he cleverly plays with the fusion of streetwear and luxurious fashion. His trademarks include large-scale lettering, the use of quotation marks and the appearance of barrier tape.

Since March 2018, Abloh has also been the Art Director of Louis Vuitton's menswear and one of the first designers with African roots to occupy such a position with a French fashion house.

Fact sheet

  • Name: Virgil Abloh
  • Date of Birth: 30.09.1980
  • Brand: Off-White

Biography of Virgil Abloh

Virgil Abloh was born on 30 September 1980 in Rockford, Illinois. His parents had previously immigrated to the United States from Ghana. His father worked as a manager, while his mother earned her living as a seamstress. Abloh learned sewing from her at an early age.

After graduating from school, however, Virgil Abloh initially took a different direction and studied civil engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His bachelor's degree in 2002 was followed four years later by a master's degree in architecture from the Illinois Institute of Technology. During his architectural studies, a building designed by architect Rem Koolhaas was erected on the campus of his university. This ultimately aroused his interest in fashion. He therefore completed an internship at Fendi in Rome in 2009 - at the same time as Kanye West. Abloh and West quickly attracted the attention of the fashion world with their fresh designs.

Virgil Abloh became known at the side of Kanye West

In 2010 Kanye West made the young Virgil Abloh Creative Director of his label DONDA. In this position he designed the artwork for the album "Watch the Throne" by Kanye West and Jay-Z, among others. He was nominated for a Grammy in the category Best Recording Package. Abloh founded his first own company in 2011. With Pyrex Vision, he bought Ralph Lauren's out-of-date clothes for $40, provided them with graphics and offered them for prices starting at $550.

Because Abloh had no commercial interests, however, but only wanted to conduct an artistic experiment, he closed the company again a year later. Instead, he founded his fashion house Off-White in Milan in 2013. His trademark became the introduction of streetwear into the luxury fashion sector. The first collections consisted exclusively of men's clothing, but in 2014 Abloh also designed fashion for women. The label also entered into various collaborations with brands such as Nike, Levi's and Moncler.

As Art Director at Louis Vuitton, Virgil Abloh made a breakthrough in the fashion industry

Abloh made his final breakthrough in the fashion industry when he was appointed Art Director for Men's Fashion at Louis Vuitton in March 2018. Shortly afterwards, he presented his first collection for the renowned company at Fashion Week in Paris. There the pieces were performed by musicians such as Playboi Carti and A$AP Nast.

In addition, Abloh continued to collaborate with other companies. He designed the furniture collection Markerad for IKEA. Among other things, this includes a showcase in which the buyer can store and display his sneakers. In addition, Abloh provided a special edition of the classic yellow IKEA shopping bag with the SCULPTURE lettering.

Quotes of Virgil Abloh

There's no line between a designer and consumer.

Virgil Abloh

I do fashion to tell a narrative.

Virgil Abloh

As a young designer in tune with culture, I'm interested in the lifeline of trends.

Virgil Abloh

Everything I do references something that influenced me.

Virgil Abloh

I like to look at fashion and relate it to the time when it was happening.

Virgil Abloh

I just wanna start a brand that inspires and is geared towards youth.

Virgil Abloh

Virgil Abloh - Louis Vuitton - Portrait

Virgil Abloh

Virgil Abloh ist eigentlich ein studierter Architekt, gilt jedoch als einer der vielversprechendsten Modedesigner seiner Generation. Mit seinem Label Off-White spielt er auf geschickte Weise mit der Verschmelzung von Streetwear und luxuriöser Mode. Seine Markenzeichen sind unter anderem großflächige Schriftzüge, die Nutzung von Anführungszeichen und die Optik von Absperrband.

Seit März 2018 ist Abloh zudem der Art Director der Herrenmode von Louis Vuitton und damit einer der ersten Designer mit afrikanischen Wurzeln, der bei einem französischen Modehaus eine solche Position einnimmt.

Steckbrief

  • Name: Virgil Abloh
  • Geburtstag: 30.09.1980
  • Marke: Off-White

Biografie von Virgil Abloh

Virgil Abloh wurde am 30. September 1980 in Rockford im US-Bundesstaat Illinois geboren. Seine Eltern waren zuvor aus Ghana in die Vereinigten Staaten eingewandert. Sein Vater arbeitete als Manager, während seine Mutter als Näherin ihr Geld verdiente. Von ihr lernte Abloh früh das Nähen.

Nach seinem Schulabschluss schlug Virgil Abloh jedoch zunächst eine andere Richtung ein und studierte Bauingenieurwesen an der University of Wisconsin-Madison. Auf seinen 2002 erworbenen Bachelor ließ er vier Jahre später einen Master in Architektur folgen, den er am Illinois Institute of Technology machte. Während seines Architekturstudiums wurde auf dem Campus seiner Uni ein Gebäude errichtet, das vom Architekten Rem Koolhaas geplant worden war. Dieses weckte letztlich sein Interesse an der Mode. Daher absolvierte er 2009 ein Praktikum bei Fendi in Rom – übrigens gleichzeitig mit Kanye West. Abloh und West machten die Modewelt schnell mit ihren frischen Entwürfen auf sich aufmerksam.

Virgil Abloh wurde bekannt an der Seite von Kanye West

Im Jahr 2010 machte Kanye West den jungen Virgil Abloh zum Creative Director seines Labels DONDA. In dieser Funktion gestaltete er unter anderem das Artwork des Albums „Watch the Throne“ von Kanye West und Jay-Z. Dafür wurde er für einen Grammy in der Kategorie Best Recording Package nominiert. Seine erste eigene Firma gründete Abloh im Jahr 2011. Mit Pyrex Vision kaufte er ausgediente Kleider von Ralph Lauren für 40 Dollar, versah sie mit Grafiken und bot sie für Preise ab 550 Dollar an.

Weil Abloh jedoch keine kommerziellen Interessen hatte, sondern lediglich ein künstlerisches Experiment durchführen wollte, schloss er das Unternehmen ein Jahr später wieder. Stattdessen gründete er 2013 sein Modehaus Off-White in Mailand. Zu dessen Markenzeichen wurde die Einführung von Streetwear in den Luxusmodebereich. Die ersten Kollektionen bestanden ausschließlich aus Männerbekleidung, 2014 gestaltete Abloh jedoch auch Mode für Frauen. Zudem ging das Label verschiedene Kollaborationen mit Marken wie Nike, Levi’s und Moncler ein.

Als Art Director bei Louis Vuitton schaffte Virgil Abloh den Durchbruch in der Modebranche

Den endgültigen Durchbruch in der Modebranche schaffte Abloh, als er im März 2018 zum Art Director für Herrenmode bei Louis Vuitton ernannt wurde. Seine erste Kollektion für das namhafte Unternehmen präsentierte er kurz darauf auf der Fashion Week in Paris. Dort wurden die Stücke von Musikern wie Playboi Carti und A$AP Nast vorgeführt.

Daneben kollaborierte Abloh weiterhin mit anderen Unternehmen. So gestaltete er für IKEA die Möbelkollektion Markerad. Dieser gehört unter anderem eine Vitrine an, in der der Käufer seine Sneakers aufbewahren und ausstellen kann. Außerdem versah Abloh eine Special Edition der klassischen gelben IKEA-Einkaufstüte mit dem Schriftzug SCULPTURE.

Zitate von Virgil Abloh

There's no line between a designer and consumer.

Virgil Abloh

I do fashion to tell a narrative.

Virgil Abloh

As a young designer in tune with culture, I'm interested in the lifeline of trends.

Virgil Abloh

Everything I do references something that influenced me.

Virgil Abloh

I like to look at fashion and relate it to the time when it was happening.

Virgil Abloh

I just wanna start a brand that inspires and is geared towards youth.

Virgil Abloh