DESIGNLOVR - Directory - Photo Missing

Ralph Lauren

The fashion designer Ralph Lauren founded his company in 1967, which today is one of the largest fashion companies in the world. One of Lauren's greatest achievements as a designer is the introduction of the polo shirt into the world of fashion. His shirts feature the iconic logo showing a polo player.

In addition to clothing for men and women, the company also launches perfumes. Lauren has not been managing director of his company since November 2015, but is still its creative director. With private assets of around seven billion dollars, he is one of the 100 richest people in America.

Profile

  • Name: Ralph Lifshitz
  • Alias: Ralph Lauren
  • Date of birth: 14.10.1939

Biography of Ralph Lauren

Ralph Lauren was born on 14 October 1939 in the Bronx district of New York. His family name was Lipshitz, but he changed it to Lauren when he was 16 years old. After graduating from high school in 1957, he began studying economics at the City University of New York. After two years, however, he dropped out. Between 1962 and 1964 Lauren did military service in the US Army and then worked as a salesman for the menswear company Brooks Brothers.

In 1967 he founded the Ralph Lauren Corporation and designed ties. One year later he designed his first complete men's collection and named it Polo. Lauren received the Coty Award for the pieces sold exclusively at Bloomingdale's in Manhattan. In 1974 he won his second Coty Award.

Ralph Lauren: From salesman to star designer with worldwide success

When Lauren also launched the first women's clothing in 1971, the now famous logo with the polo player was emblazoned on it for the first time. In 1981, his company opened its first store outside the USA, in New Bond Street in London. In 1986, the company's flagship store in New York opened its doors. One year later, Lauren had a benign tumour removed from her brain. He fully recovered from the operation. In 1992 he launched the Polo Sport fashion line, followed by the Purple label in 1995 and the Lauren Ralph Lauren brand in 1996. In 1997 the company went public.

In November 2015 Lauren retired as managing director of his company and handed over the position to Stefan Larsson. However, Lauren remains Chairman of the Board and Creative Director of the company. Lauren is considered one of the richest people in the United States and has an estimated private wealth of $6.9 billion.

Ralph Lauren retired from his company in 2015

Lauren has been married since December 1964 to Ricky Ann Low-Beer, who was a doctor's assistant at the time. The couple have three children: Andrew, born in 1969, is a film producer and actor, David, born in 1971, holds a high position in his father's company, and Dylan, born in 1974, runs a chain of candy stores. Lauren owns more than 100 cars, some of which are very rare.

Quotes of Ralph Lauren

I don't design clothes, I design dreams.

Ralph Lauren

Style is very personal. It has nothing to do with fashion. Fashion is over quickly. Style is forever.

Ralph Lauren

It's all possible and I'm living proof.

Ralph Lauren

You have to create something from nothing.

Ralph Lauren

I don't like it when a woman looks like a fashion victim.

Ralph Lauren

I never said to myself, 'I'm going to be the greatest.' I just wanted to do my own thing.

Ralph Lauren

DESIGNLOVR - Directory - Photo Missing

Ralph Lauren

Der Modedesigner Ralph Lauren gründete im Jahr 1967 sein Unternehmen, das heute zu den größten Modefirmen der Welt gehört. Eine der größten Errungenschaften von Lauren als Designer ist die Einführung des Poloshirts in die Welt der Mode. Versehen sind seine Shirts mit dem ikonischen Logo, das einen Polospieler zeigt.

Neben Kleidungsstücken für Herren und Damen bringt das Unternehmen auch Parfums auf den Markt. Lauren ist seit November 2015 nicht mehr Geschäftsführer seiner Firma, jedoch noch immer dessen kreativer Direktor. Mit einem Privatvermögen von rund sieben Milliarden Dollar gehört er zu den 100 reichsten Menschen Amerikas.

Steckbrief

  • Name: Ralph Lifshitz
  • Alias: Ralph Lauren
  • Geburtstag: 14.10.1939

Biografie von Ralph Lauren

Ralph Lauren kam am 14. Oktober 1939 im New Yorker Stadtteil Bronx zur Welt. Sein Familienname lautete Lipshitz, allerdings ließ er diesen in Lauren ändern, als er 16 Jahre alt war. Nach dem Schulabschluss im Jahr 1957 begann er, an der City University of New York Wirtschaftswissenschaften zu studieren. Nach zwei Jahren brach er das Studium jedoch ab. Zwischen 1962 und 1964 leistete Lauren Wehrdienst in der US-Armee und arbeitete anschließend als Verkäufer beim Herrenausstatter Brooks Brothers.

Im Jahr 1967 gründete er die Ralph Lauren Corporation und entwarf Krawatten. Ein Jahr später designte er seine erste komplette Herrenkollektion und nannte sie Polo. Lauren wurde für die Stücke, die exklusiv bei Bloomingdale's in Manhattan verkauft wurden, mit dem Coty Award ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 1974 gewann er seinen zweiten Coty Award.

Ralph Lauren: Vom Verkäufer zum Star-Designer mit weltweiten Erfolg

Als Lauren 1971 auch die ersten Kleidungsstücke für Frauen auf den Markt brachte, prangte darauf erstmals das heute berühmte Logo mit dem Polospieler. Sein Unternehmen eröffnete im Jahr 1981 seinen ersten Store außerhalb der USA, und zwar in der New Bond Street in London. 1986 öffnete der Flagship-Store des Unternehmens in New York seine Pforten. Ein Jahr später wurde Lauren ein gutartiger Tumor aus dem Gehirn entfernt. Er erholte sich vollständig von dem Eingriff. Im Jahr 1992 führte er die Modelinie Polo Sport ein, 1995 folgte das Purple Label und 1996 die Marke Lauren Ralph Lauren. 1997 ging das Unternehmen an die Börse.

Im November 2015 zog sich Lauren als Geschäftsführer seines Unternehmens zurück und übergab die Position an Stefan Larsson. Lauren ist jedoch weiterhin Vorstandsvorsitzender und Creative Director der Firma. Lauren gilt als einer der reichsten Menschen der Vereinigten Staaten und hat ein geschätztes Privatvermögen von 6,9 Milliarden US-Dollar.

Ralph Lauren zog sich 2015 aus seinem Unternehmen zurück

Lauren ist seit Dezember 1964 mit der damaligen Arzthelferin Ricky Ann Low-Beer verheiratet. Das Paar hat drei Kinder: Andrew, geboren 1969, ist Filmproduzent und Schauspieler, David, geboren 1971, bekleidet eine hohe Position in der Firma seines Vaters, und Dylan, geboren 1974, führt eine Kette von Süßigkeitengeschäften. Lauren besitzt mehr als 100 Autos, wobei einige sehr selten sind.

Zitate von Ralph Lauren

Ich designe keine Mode, ich kreiere Träume.

Ralph Lauren

Style is very personal. It has nothing to do with fashion. Fashion is over quickly. Style is forever.

Ralph Lauren

It's all possible and I'm living proof.

Ralph Lauren

You have to create something from nothing.

Ralph Lauren

I don't like it when a woman looks like a fashion victim.

Ralph Lauren

I never said to myself, 'I'm going to be the greatest.' I just wanted to do my own thing.

Ralph Lauren