Karl Lagerfeld - Portrait

Karl Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld was one of the best-known and most innovative fashion designers of all time. In the course of his career, the Hamburg-born designer influenced the artistic orientation of renowned fashion houses such as Chanel, Chloé and Fendi. He also founded his own labels such as Karl Lagerfeld and Lagerfeld Gallery. In addition, fashion tsar Claudia Schiffer made a breakthrough as a model and was successful as a photographer, costume designer and perfume creator.

Lagerfeld's main visual features were his white powdered plait, his thick sunglasses and his stand-up collar. In addition, a fan belonged to his appearance for years. Lagerfeld died on 19 February 2019 in the Paris suburb of Neuilly-sur-Seine. His ashes are to be partly mixed with those of his mother and partly with those of his partner Jaques de Bascher, who died in 1989, and then scattered.

Profile

  • Name: Karl Otto Lagerfeld
  • Alias: Karl Lagerfeld
  • Date of birth: 10.09.1933
  • Date of death: 19.02.2019

Biography of Karl Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld was born on 10 September 1933 in Hamburg. His father Otto was the founder of Glücksklee Milchgesellschaft mbH, and the family was accordingly wealthy. In 1953 Karl moved with his mother Elisabeth to Paris, where he tried to gain a foothold in the fashion industry after finishing school. First he worked as an illustrator, then as a tailor and finally as a designer.

In 1955 he won a design competition and was hired by Pierre Balmain as his assistant. Three years later, Lagerfeld became the artistic director of Jean Patou. In July 1958 Lagerfeld was able to present his first own collection called Roland Karl. After working exclusively for Jean Patou for five years, from 1963 he worked on a freelance basis for various labels, including Chloé and Fendi. His assignment at Fendi was to modernize the company's fur fashion. He then introduced clothes made of mole, rabbit and squirrel fur into high fashion.

Karl Lagerfeld's international breakthrough at Chanel

At the beginning of 1983 Chanel appointed Lagerfeld as artistic director. At that time, the company was still suffering severely from the death of its founder Coco Chanel in 1971 and threatened to disappear into insignificance. Lagerfeld, who initially only worked as a consultant in the company's haute couture division, was promoted to Chief Designer of the fashion company in 1984. In this function he led Chanel to new splendour by combining the legacy of the company's founder with his fresh ideas.

Chanel allowed Lagerfeld to work for other fashion labels on the side, as the company saw this as a creative addition to its own collections. In 1984 Lagerfeld founded his own label Karl Lagerfeld, for which he designed extravagant wool fashion. However, the label was only moderately successful, which is why Lagerfeld sold it after only three years.

Further fields of activity of Lagerfeld

In addition to fashion design, Lagerfeld also worked in other artistic fields. In 1996 he was awarded the Culture Prize by the German Society for Photography. In the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s, he also designed stage sets for various theatre and opera productions. On 19 February 2019 he died in a hospital in the Paris suburb of Neuilly-sur-Seine. Pancreatic cancer is suspected to be the cause of death.

Quotes of Karl Lagerfeld

If you see it you will think about everything except sex, because it is the unsexiest room ever. I love unsexy bedrooms.

Karl Lagerfeld

I’m a kind of fashion nymphomaniac who never gets an orgasm.

Karl Lagerfeld

I live in a set, with the curtains of the stage closed with no audience - but who cares?

Karl Lagerfeld

Chic is a kind of mayonnaise, either it tastes, or it doesn't.

Karl Lagerfeld

I lost 200lb to wear suits by Hedi Slimane.

Karl Lagerfeld

If you throw money out of the window throw it out with joy. Don’t say: 'one shouldn’t do that' - that is bourgeois.

Karl Lagerfeld

The most important piece in the house is the garbage can.

Karl Lagerfeld

I don't know Heidi Klum. She was never known in France. Claudia Schiffer also doesn't know who she is.

Karl Lagerfeld

I think tattoos are horrible. It's like living in a Pucci dress full-time. If you're young and tight, maybe it's OK, but…

Karl Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld - Portrait

Karl Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld war einer der bekanntesten und innovativsten Modedesigner aller Zeiten. Der gebürtige Hamburger prägte im Laufe seiner Karriere unter anderem die künstlerische Ausrichtung von namhaften Modehäusern wie Chanel, Chloé und Fendi. Außerdem gründete er eigene Labels wie Karl Lagerfeld und Lagerfeld Gallery. Darüber hinaus verhalf der Modezar Claudia Schiffer zum Durchbruch als Model und war als Fotograf, Kostümbildner und Parfum-Kreateur erfolgreich.

Optisch fiel Lagerfeld vor allem durch seinen weiß gepuderten Zopf, seine dicken Sonnenbrillen und seinen Stehkragen auf. Zudem gehörte jahrelang auch ein Fächer zu seinem Erscheinungsbild. Lagerfeld starb am 19. Februar 2019 im Pariser Vorort Neuilly-sur-Seine. Seine Asche soll teilweise mit der seiner Mutter und teilweise mit der seines 1989 verstorbenen Lebenspartners Jaques de Bascher vermischt und dann verstreut werden.

Steckbrief

  • Name: Karl Otto Lagerfeld
  • Alias: Karl Lagerfeld
  • Geburtstag: 10.09.1933
  • Todestag: 19.02.2019
Karl Lagerfeld - Instagram

Trauer in der Modebranche: Karl Lagerfeld ist verstorben

Kim-Christopher Granz
Karl Lagerfeld - Portrait

Das sind die vermutlich besten Sprüche von Karl Lagerfeld

Kim-Christopher Granz
Karl Lagerfeld - Bag

Karl Lagerfeld kritisiert Angela Merkel mit Hitler-Cartoon

Kim-Christopher Granz

Biografie von Karl Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld kam am 10. September 1933 in Hamburg zur Welt. Sein Vater Otto war der Gründer der Glücksklee Milchgesellschaft mbH, entsprechend wohlhabend war die Familie. Karl zog 1953 mit seiner Mutter Elisabeth nach Paris, wo er nach seinem Schulabschluss in der Modebranche Fuß zu fassen versuchte. Zunächst war er als Illustrator tätig, dann als Schneider und schließlich als Designer.

Im Jahr 1955 gewann er einen Design-Wettbewerb und wurde von Pierre Balmain als dessen Assistent eingestellt. Drei Jahre später wurde Lagerfeld zum künstlerischen Direktor von Jean Patou. Im Juli 1958 konnte Lagerfeld seine erste eigene Kollektion namens Roland Karl präsentieren. Nachdem er fünf Jahre lang exklusiv für Jean Patou tätig war, arbeitete er ab 1963 auf freier Basis für verschiedene Labels – darunter auch Chloé und Fendi. Sein Auftrag bei Fendi war es, die Pelzmode des Hauses zu modernisieren. Daraufhin führte er Kleidungsstücke aus Maulwurfs-, Hasen- und Eichhörnchenpelz in die High Fashion ein.

Karl Lagerfelds internationaler Durchbruch bei Chanel

Anfang 1983 engagierte Chanel Lagerfeld als künstlerischen Direktor. Das Unternehmen hatte zu dieser Zeit noch immer schwer unter dem Tod seiner Gründerin Coco Chanel im Jahr 1971 zu leiden und drohte, in der Bedeutungslosigkeit zu verschwinden. Lagerfeld, der anfangs lediglich in der Haute-Couture-Sparte des Hauses beratend tätig war, stieg 1984 zum Chef-Designer des Modeunternehmens auf. In dieser Funktion führte er Chanel zu neuem Glanz, in dem er das Erbe der Firmengründerin mit seinen frischen Ideen kombinierte.

Chanel ließ zu, dass Lagerfeld nebenbei für andere Modelabels arbeitete, da das Unternehmen dies als kreative Bereicherung für seine eigenen Kollektionen ansah. So gründete Lagerfeld im Jahr 1984 ein eigenes Label Karl Lagerfeld, für das er extravagante Mode aus Wolle designte. Das Label war jedoch nur mäßig erfolgreich, weshalb es Lagerfeld nach nur drei Jahren veräußerte.

Weitere Betätigungsfelder von Lagerfeld

Lagerfeld betätigte sich neben dem Modedesign auf anderen künstlerischen Feldern. So wurde er 1996 von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie mit dem Kulturpreis ausgezeichnet. Zudem gestaltete er in den 1970er-, 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren das Bühnenbild verschiedener Theater- und Opernproduktionen. Am 19. Februar 2019 starb er in einem Krankenhaus im Pariser Vorort Neuilly-sur-Seine. Als Todesursache wird Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs vermutet.

Zitate von Karl Lagerfeld

Eine Frau ohne Stil hat auch in einem Kleid mit Stil keinen Stil.

Karl Lagerfeld

Das Geld muss aus dem Fenster, damit es durch die Tür wieder rein kommt.

Karl Lagerfeld

Wer eine Jogginghose trägt, hat die Kontrolle über sein Leben verloren.

Karl Lagerfeld

Ich hasse das Wort billig. Menschen sind billig, Bekleidung ist dagegen teuer oder preiswert.

Karl Lagerfeld

Ich lache darüber, wie schlecht ich immer gelaunt bin.

Karl Lagerfeld

Ich stand nie unter Druck. Stress - kenne ich auch nicht. Ich kenne nur Strass. Ich bin in der Modebranche.

Karl Lagerfeld

Ich halte mich wirklich nicht für ein Genie. Ich finde sogar, unter uns gesagt, ich hätte viel mehr aus mir machen können.

Karl Lagerfeld

Man muss etwas Neues machen, wenn man den Leuten das Geld aus der Tasche ziehen will.

Karl Lagerfeld

Man lernt nur aus seinen Fehlern. Erfolg hat noch keinem geholfen.

Karl Lagerfeld