DESIGNLOVR - Directory - Photo Missing

Jonathan Ive

The design of Apple products like the iPhone, iPad and iMac is unmistakable. Behind it is Jonathan Ive, who has worked for the tech giant since 1992 and has been its chief designer since the early 2000s. Ive is not only responsible for the hardware, but also for the operating systems macOS and iOS. Ive's way of working follows the principle “Form follows function”, which can be clearly seen in the products he designs. He spends a lot of time analyzing what is really important about a device. That's why Apple products are considered particularly user-friendly and intuitive.

Fact sheet

  • Name: Sir Jonathan Paul Ive
  • Alias: Jony Ive
  • Date of birth: 27.02.1967

Biography of Jonathan Ive

Jony Ive: The beginnings of the British star designer

Jonathan Ive was born in London on 27 February 1967. His grandfather was an engineer, his father a goldsmith. Every Christmas Ive received a special gift: He was allowed to use his father's workshop for one day and build whatever he wanted. The father had only one condition: Ive had to think carefully about what the construction would look like and sketch it out in detail.

After finishing school, Ive first thought about studying automotive design, but soon rejected the plan. Instead, he studied industrial design at Newcastle Polytechnic. Some of his designs were already exhibited at the Design Museum in London when Ive was still studying. Ive completed his studies in 1989, first doing an internship with Roberts Weaver and then joining the London start-up Tangerine. However, his work there did not satisfy him, and so it suited him that Tangerine began working with Apple in the early 1990s.

Jonathan Ive becomes new chief designer at Apple

While still an employee of Tangerine, Jonathan Ive designed the first PowerBook for Apple. In September 1992 he was enticed away by Apple and moved from England to California. His first job was designing the Newton and MessagePad 110 handheld computers. Because the devices failed to succeed, Ive thought several times about quitting Apple. In 1997, Steve Jobs, who had to leave Apple in 1985, returned to the company. He appointed Ive Senior Vice President of Industrial Design because he wanted to use him to steer the company's creative line in a new direction. Ive got his own team and was the first to design the iMac with a colorful case.

All the products that made Apple one of the most innovative tech companies in the world were designed by Ive. He was responsible for the looks of the iPod, iPhone and iPad, as well as iBook and MacBook Pro. Since 2012, he's also been responsible for the look and feel of Apple's operating systems. One of his first steps was to completely redesign the iOS mobile operating system. Since 2011, Ive has had the suffix "Sir" because he was appointed Knight Commander by Queen Elizabeth II.

Quotes of Jonathan Ive

Really great design is hard. Good is the enemy of great.

Jonathan Ive

… it’s very easy to be different, but very difficult to be better.

Jonathan Ive

If something is not good enough, stop doing it.

Jonathan Ive

There's no learning without trying lots of ideas and failing lots of times.

Jonathan Ive

To design something really new and innovative you have to reject reason.

Jonathan Ive

There is beauty when something works and it works intuitively.

Jonathan Ive

DESIGNLOVR - Directory - Photo Missing

Jonathan Ive

Das Design von Apple-Produkten wie dem iPhone, dem iPad und dem iMac ist unverkennbar. Dahinter steckt Jonathan Ive, der seit 1992 für den Tech-Riesen tätig und seit Anfang der 2000er dessen Chefdesigner ist. Ive ist nicht nur für die Hardware verantwortlich, sondern auch für die Betriebssysteme macOS und iOS. Ives Arbeitsweise folgt dem Prinzip „Form follows function“, was an den von ihm gestalteten Produkten deutlich zu erkennen ist. Er verbringt viel Zeit damit, zu analysieren, was an einem Gerät wirklich wichtig ist. Aus diesem Grund gelten Apple-Produkte als besonders benutzerfreundlich und intuitiv.

Steckbrief

  • Name: Sir Jonathan Paul Ive
  • Alias: Jony Ive
  • Geburtstag: 27.02.1967

Biografie von Jonathan Ive

Jony Ive: Die Anfänge des britischen Star-Designers

Jonathan Ive wurde am 27. Februar 1967 in London geboren. Sein Großvater war Ingenieur, sein Vater Goldschmied. Jedes Jahr zu Weihnachten bekam Ive ein besonderes Geschenk: Er durfte die Werkstatt seines Vaters einen Tag lang benutzen und bauen, was er wollte. Der Vater hatte nur eine Bedingung: Ive musste sich zuvor genau überlegen, wie die Konstruktion aussehen sollte, und musste sie im Detail skizzieren.

Nach dem Schulabschluss dachte Ive zunächst darüber nach, Automobildesign zu studieren, verwarf diesen Plan aber recht bald. Stattdessen studierte er Industriedesign an der Newcastle Polytechnic. Einige seiner Entwürfe wurden bereits im Design Museum von London ausgestellt, als Ive noch studierte. Im Jahr 1989 schloss Ive sein Studium ab, absolvierte zunächst ein Praktikum bei Roberts Weaver und schloss sich dann dem Londoner Start-up Tangerine an. Seine dortige Arbeit erfüllte ihn jedoch nicht, und so kam es ihm gelegen, dass Tangerine ab Anfang der 1990er-Jahre mit Apple zusammenarbeitete.

Jonathan Ive wird neuer Chefdesigner bei Apple

Noch als Angestellter von Tangerine designte Jonathan Ive das erste PowerBook für Apple. Im September 1992 wurde er dann von Apple abgeworben und zog von England nach Kalifornien. Sein erster Job war das Design der Handheld-Computer Newton und MessagePad 110. Weil der Erfolg der Geräte ausblieb, dachte Ive mehrfach darüber nach, bei Apple zu kündigen. Im Jahr 1997 kehrte Steve Jobs, der Apple 1985 verlassen musste, ins Unternehmen zurück. Er ernannte Ive zum Senior Vice President of Industrial Design, weil er mit ihm die gestalterische Linie der Firma in eine neue Richtung lenken wollte. Ive bekam sein eigenes Team und gestaltete mit ihm als erstes den iMac mit buntem Gehäuse.

Sämtliche Produkte, mit denen Apple zu einem der innovativsten Tech-Unternehmen der Welt aufstieg, wurden von Ive designt. So war er für das Aussehen von iPod, iPhone und iPad, aber auch von iBook und MacBook Pro verantwortlich. Seit 2012 ist er außerdem für die Optik der Betriebssysteme von Apple zuständig. So gestaltete er als einen der ersten Schritte das Design des mobilen Betriebssystems iOS komplett um. Seit 2011 trägt Ive den Namenszusatz „Sir“, weil er von Königin Elisabeth II. zum Knight Commander ernannt wurde.

Zitate von Jonathan Ive

Really great design is hard. Good is the enemy of great.

Jonathan Ive

… it’s very easy to be different, but very difficult to be better.

Jonathan Ive

If something is not good enough, stop doing it.

Jonathan Ive

There's no learning without trying lots of ideas and failing lots of times.

Jonathan Ive

To design something really new and innovative you have to reject reason.

Jonathan Ive

There is beauty when something works and it works intuitively.

Jonathan Ive