David Ogilvy

David Ogilvy

David Ogilvy is one of the most famous copywriters of all time. A multitude of slogans and headlines for companies such as Guinness, Dove or Schweppes have become real classics. David Ogilvy wrote the probably most famous advertising slogan for Rolls-Royce. With his agency Ogilvy & Mather, which he founded in New York in 1948, the advertising copywriter set many milestones and supported major clients such as Siemens, IBM, Milka and SAP.

Fact Sheet

  • Name: David Mackenzie Ogilvy
  • Alias: David Ogilvy
  • Birthday: 23.06.1911
  • Date of death: 21.07.1999

Biography of David Ogilvy

David Ogilvy was born in 1911 in West Horsley, England. He tried his hand more or less successfully as a cook, representative, diplomat and farmer. From 1938 to 1948, Ogilvy's experimental period, he learned how to lead passionate creative people, treat customers with respect, get employees to work hard and make themselves indispensable to customers.

The foundation of the agency Hewitt, Ogilvy, Benson & Mather

David Ogilvy founded the advertising agency Hewitt, Ogilvy, Benson & Mather in New York, which soon became one of the most important international agencies under the name Ogilvy & Mather. Ogilvy has produced a number of well-known advertising texts, slogans and headlines that are now true classics. Among other things, Ogilvy also wrote the most famous headline of his time for Rolls-Royce: “At 60 miles an hour the lodest noise in this new Rolls-Royce comes from the electric clock.”

Despite resignation, the Ogilvy story did not end

David Ogilvy retired from daily business in 1973 and retired to his castle Touffou near Bonnes in France. Just four years later, he was inducted into the American Advertising Hall of Fame. But the Ogilvy story did not end. In 1980 he once again took over the executive chair of the Indian agency and afterwards, for a short time, the chair of the German Ogilvy & Mather agency.

On 21 July 1999, the copywriter died at the age of 88.

David Ogilvy

David Ogilvy

David Ogilvy ist einer der berühmtesten Werbetexter aller Zeiten. Eine Vielzahl einer Slogans und Headlines für Unternehmen wie z. B. Guinness, Dove oder Schweppes sind mittlerweile zu echten Klassikern avanciert. Den wohl berühmtesten Werbeslogan hat David Ogilvy für Rolls-Royce verfasst. Mit seiner Agentur Ogilvy & Mather, die er im Jahr 1948 in New York gegründet hat, setzte der Werbetexte so manchen Meilensteine und betreute Großkunden wie Siemens, IBM, Milka und SAP.

Steckbrief

  • Name: David Mackenzie Ogilvy
  • Alias: David Ogilvy
  • Geburtstag: 23.06.1911
  • Todestag: 21.07.1999

Biografie von David Ogilvy

David Ogilvy wurde im Jahre 1911 in West Horsley, England geboren. Er versuchte sich mehr oder weniger erfolgreich als Koch, Vertreter, Diplomat und Farmer. In der Zeit von 1938 bis 1948, der Experimentierzeit von Ogilvy, lernte er wie man passionierte kreative Menschen führt, Kunden mit Respekt behandelt, Angestellte dazu bringt, hart zu arbeiten und wie man sich selbst für Kunden unentbehrlich macht.

Die Gründung der Agentur Hewitt, Ogilvy, Benson & Mather

Im Alter von 39 Jahren begann ein neuer Lebensabschnitt: David Ogilvy gründete in New York die Werbeagentur Hewitt, Ogilvy, Benson & Mather, die schon bald unter dem Namen Ogilvy & Mather zu einer der international wichtigsten Agenturen werden sollte. Auf Ogilvy gehen eine Vielzahl bekannter Werbetexte, Slogans und Headlines zurück, die heute echte Klassiker sind. Unter anderem hat Ogilvy auch die wohl bekannteste Headline seiner Zeit für Rolls-Royce verfasst: „At 60 miles an hour the lodest noise in this new Rolls-Royce comes from the electric clock.“

Trotzt Rücktritt nahm die Ogilvy-Story kein Ende

David Ogilvy zog sich im Jahre 1973 vorerst aus dem Tagesgeschäft zurück und setzte sich auf seinem Schloss Touffou bei Bonnes in Frankreich zur Ruhe. Knappe vier Jahre später wurde er in die amerikanische Advertising Hall of Fame aufgenommen. Doch die Ogilvy-Story nahm kein Ende. Im Jahre 1980 übernahm er noch einmal den Chefsessel der indischen und anschließend, für eine kurze Zeit, den Vorsitz der deutschen Ogilvy & Mather Agentur.

Am 21. Juli 1999 verstarb der Werbetexter im Alter von 88 Jahren.