Philipp Plein - Terry Richardson

Philipp Plein

As a law student, Philipp Plein started his career as a designer in the late 1990s. Today he owns several fashion brands that generate millions in sales. Known for his extravagant and modern designs, Plein also made the skull socially acceptable in high fashion. In addition to fashion, he also designs furniture – a field in which his career began more than 20 years ago.

Profile

Biography of Philipp Plein

Philipp Plein was born in Munich on February 16, 1978. After graduating from school, he enrolled to study law at the Friedrich Alexander University in Erlangen-Nuremberg. At the same time, he began designing pieces of furniture and having them made from stainless steel. Because the pieces found no takers, Plein decided to have them upholstered in leather. He purchased leather at a trade fair in Italy and had tables covered with it. With these, Plein took part in the furniture fair in Cologne and achieved considerable sales there. Plein had bags made from the leather offcuts, which also found favor with buyers.

Plein dropped out of law school and founded the company International AG in 1998. In 2003, Plein designed a lounge for Moët & Chandon for the CPD trade fair in Düsseldorf, where he was allowed to offer his bags for sale. A year later he founded the Philipp Plein brand.

Global expansion made Philipp Plein the absolute “King of Bling”

The first collection of Plein’s fashion label were jackets discarded by the military, which the designer decorated with skulls made of Svarowski stones. In 2004, Plein opened his first store in Munich, which was followed over time by numerous others around the world. Philipp Plein boutiques are located in New York, Los Angeles, Moscow, Hong Kong and Dubai, among other places. Plein made an appearance on the third season of “Germany’s Next Topmodel” in 2008, designing a collection themed Heavy Metal that was presented to the show’s contestants.

In 2009, Plein designed a Barbie to celebrate the brand’s 50th anniversary. In the spring of 2011, he debuted with a collection at Milan Fashion Week. Since then, the designer has been able to attract various celebrities as models, including Mischa Barton, Lindsay Lohan, Fergie and boxer Floyd Mayweather. Plein is also known for the unusual locations of his fashion shows. He already chose a church building for the 2011 show in Milan, and in 2015 it was an abandoned swimming pool.

Philipp Plein takes over the fashion brand Billionaire

In 2012 Plein entered into a collaboration with the soccer club AS Rome, whose jerseys he designed for four years. In 2016 Plein took over the brand Billionaire, which Flavio Briatore had founded in 2005. The following summer, the designer held no less than three fashion shows in Milan with his three labels Philipp Plein, Plein Sport and Billionaire. Today, there are more than 80 Philipp Plein stores and over 25 Billionaire stores worldwide.

Quotes of Philipp Plein

You cant't do epic shit with basic people.

- Philipp Plein

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Philipp Plein - Terry Richardson

Philipp Plein

Als Jurastudent startete Philipp Plein in den späten 1990er-Jahren seine Karriere als Designer. Heute besitzt er mehrere Modemarken, die Millionenumsätze erzielen. Bekannt ist Plein für seine extravaganten und modernen Designs, zudem machte er den Totenkopf in der High Fashion salonfähig. Neben Mode entwirft er auch Möbelstücke – ein Feld, auf dem vor mehr als 20 Jahren seine Laufbahn ihren Anfang nahm.

Steckbrief

Biografie von Philipp Plein

Philipp Plein kam am 16. Februar 1978 in München zur Welt. Nach seinem Schulabschluss schrieb er sich für ein Jurastudium an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg ein. Parallel dazu begann er damit, Möbelstücke zu designen und aus Edelstahl fertigen zu lassen. Weil die Stücke keine Abnehmer fanden, beschloss Plein, sie mit Leder polstern zu lassen. Dafür erwarb er Leder auf einer Messe in Italien und ließ damit Tische beziehen. Mit diesen nahm Plein an der Möbelmesse in Köln teil und erzielte dort beachtliche Umsätze. Aus den Leder-Verschnitten ließ Plein Taschen herstellen, die ebenfalls bei der Käuferschaft Anklang fanden.

Plein brach sein Jurastudium ab und gründete 1998 die Firma International AG. Für die Messe CPD in Düsseldorf designte Plein 2003 eine Lounge für Moët & Chandon und durfte dort seine Taschen zum Verkauf anbieten. Ein Jahr später gründete er die Marke Philipp Plein.

Die weltweite Expansion machte Philipp Plein zum absoluten „King of Bling“

Die erste Kollektion von Pleins Modelabel waren Jacken, die vom Militär ausgemustert worden waren und die der Designer mit Totenköpfen aus Svarowski-Steinen verzierte. Im Jahr 2004 eröffnete Plein in München seinen ersten Store, dem im Laufe der Zeit zahlreiche weitere in aller Welt folgten. So befinden sich unter anderem in New York, Los Angeles, Moskau, Hongkong und Dubai Boutiquen von Philipp Plein. In der dritten Staffel von „Germany’s Next Topmodel“ 2008 hatte Plein einen Auftritt, bei dem er unter dem Motto Heavy Metal eine Kollektion entwarf, die die Teilnehmerinnen der Show präsentierten.

2009 gestaltete Plein eine Barbie anlässlich des 50. Jubiläums der Marke. Im Frühjahr 2011 debütierte er mit einer Kollektion auf der Mailänder Modewoche. Seitdem konnte der Designer verschiedene Prominente als Models gewinnen, darunter Mischa Barton, Lindsay Lohan, Fergie und den Boxer Floyd Mayweather. Plein ist zudem für die ungewöhnlichen Locations seiner Modenschauen bekannt. Schon für die Show in Mailand 2011 wählte er ein Kirchengebäude, 2015 war es ein verlassenes Schwimmbad.

Philipp Plein übernimmt die Modemarke Billionaire

Im Jahr 2012 ging Plein eine Kollaboration mit dem Fußballclub AS Rom ein, dessen Trikots er vier Jahre lang designte. Im Jahr 2016 übernahm Plein die Marke Billionaire, die Flavio Briatore 2005 gegründet hatte. Im darauffolgenden Sommer veranstaltete der Designer gleich drei Modenschauen mit seinen drei Labels Philipp Plein, Plein Sport und Billionaire in Mailand. Weltweit gibt es heute mehr als 80 Philipp Plein- und über 25 Billionaire-Stores.

Zitate von Philipp Plein

You cant't do epic shit with basic people.

- Philipp Plein

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.